When you open a document and receive this notification you have three options to work with. This article will walk you through those options. There are two reasons you might be receiving this modal.
- The document was shared with Can Edit in Private and has been edited since the recipient received the document. This could mean that their own clients have signed the document and an updated version has been created. They will need to share the document to you in order for you to see the updates.
- The document was shared with Can Sign, Can Fill & Sign, or Can Edit in Private and the recipient is currently in the document.
The first option is to request access to the document. This will send an email to the person who currently has access asking them to share the document to you.
Expand on the step here to give a deep dive into details.
Dotloop will send an email letting the person with the most up to date version of the document that you would like access. The email will give them the option to share the document to you.
The second option is to take the document. This means that you will have access to the version that you share to them. You will not be able to see any changes that the recipient made.
Once you click on Take Document you will be able to view and manage the document.
The last option is just like using the Make a Copy feature.
Click on Make a Private Copy.
Click on the back arrow in the top left of your screen to be taken back to the loop. There you will see the copy of the document. This will be a copy of the same document version that you originally shared.