Share status is a quick way to keep track of documents within a loop. Once a document is shared or added into a loop, you can see the share status of the document based on the share permission used. Below are details of each share status.
- Not shared
- Waiting on others
- Waiting on you
- Part Signed
- Multiple share permissions in one document
Whenever you add a document to a loop, it automatically receives the share status of NOT SHARED - even if you copy a shared document from one loop into another. This is because the document has not been shared within the new loop.
Modifying a document (adding or assigning a field) updates the share status to NOT SHARED to notify you that the updated version of the document has been shared to others yet.
Sharing a document using the share permissions of CAN SIGN, CAN FILL AND SIGN, OR EDIT IN PRIVATE updates the share status to WAITING ON OTHERS.
Hover your mouse over this share status to see that status of signing or if modifying the document.
If the document was shared to more than one person to sign, each person will have a status.
When documents are shared directly to you with the permission of CAN SIGN or CAN FILL AND SIGN the share status updates to WAITING ON YOU.
When you click on the document a sign experience will open for you to sign/fill in the document to share back. If you would like to add fields, you can copy the document as a flat PDF into the loop and edit that version, or ask the person who shared the document to share as EDIT IN PRIVATE.
When a document is shared with the permission of CAN SIGN and the signer completes the signing experience, the share status changes to SIGNED.
This status also reflects when a document is signed and then shared as EDIT IN PRIVATE to another person due to the live signatures on the document when shared. If you need to make changes to a document with this share status, you can copy the document as a flat PDF to the loop, edit and reshare the document with the changes and preserved signatures.
When a document is shared with the permission of CAN SIGN or CAN FILL AND SIGN and the signer completes part of the documents and shares it back, the share status changes to PART SIGNED.
You can reshare the document to allow the signer to update the document in places that were missed, you will not lose the previously signed fields. Check the field assignments in the document if you are having issues with the signer signing.
If a document has the share status of SIGNED and is reshared to the signer with the permission of VIEW ONLY, the share status on the signer’s end in changes to UPDATED.
This also applies to other dotloop users with access to a document that was shared and is being modified as EDIT IN PRIVATE then shared as VIEW ONLY. On the other users end the share status changes to UPDATED.
If a document is shared as view only and the receiver opens the document it will update to a status of VIEWED.
When sharing a document with multiple share permissions to multiple people, the share status will update to WAITING ON OTHERS.
Hover your mouse over the share status to see that status of viewed, signing or if modifying the document.