Being able to share documents on the go is essential. You can share documents for viewing, signing, editing from the app.
Android user? Click here for Sharing documents on the Android app.
Tap on the name of the loop that you need to share documents from.
To get to the documents section of the loop, tap on Docs at the top of your screen.
You can share one document or multiple documents at a time. To share one document tap on Share Document in blue.
To share multiple documents tap on the empty circle on the document image. Once you have all of the documents selected tap on Share in the bottom right.
Tap on the circle to the left of each person you want to share with.
If you need to update the sharing permission for a person tap on the blue permission under their name.
Tap on the permission you want to share the document with.
If you want to add a note when sharing the documents or attach a PDF version of the document(s) you can make those selections on this screen.
Tap Done in the top right corner to share.
When sharing a document you have a few options on how to share. These are referred to as sharing permissions. Let's first explain each permission.
View Only - View only will allow the recipient to only view the document. They cannot sign this document, they cannot make any changes to it.
Can Sign - This is the permission you'll be using when you only need to obtain signatures/initials. Can sign will allow the recipient to view the document and also dotloop will walk them through their assigned signature/initial fields, making an intuitive experience for the recipient to sign and/or initial the document(s). Also, this permission will notify you and send the signed document back to you automatically after the recipient clicks the 'Complete Signing' prompt.
Can Fill & Sign - This permission is for documents you need filled out and signed, but you don't want the recipient to actually alter field sizes or add fields to a document. A Seller's Disclosure is a good example of a document that would be sent with this permission. We will walk the recipient down the document to each blank field and request their input, including initials/signature.
Can Edit In Private - Can edit in private should only be used with other professionals familiar with dotloop. When you pull a document out of templates, or upload a document into your loop, you automatically have Can edit in private permission. That is the highest permission for a document, meaning you can change whatever you want on it (everything tracked of course in dotloop), alter field size, delete or place additional fields, and fill out anything you want. Any changes made to a previously signed document by design will wipe out signatures ensuring no one is agreeing to term edits made after signatures were placed. This permission is ideal when sharing with co-op agents using dotloop.