In this article we will talk about a few topics regarding sharing. With sharing there are a few ways to accomplish this, both of which we will cover. Also, we will go over understanding sharing permissions.
Now that we are ready to share our documents we can do so one of two ways. Single documents can be shared one at a time, or we can share every document within a folder. We will go over both options before sharing.
To share a single document, you will first open the document. At the bottom of the screen you will see the SHARE button. Tapping this will open the share window to share out this single document.
Alternatively, if you wish to share all the documents within a folder in your loop, 1. tap on the down arrow to the right of the folder, and then 2. select the SHARE ALL option that appears at the bottom of the page.
We can also share the documents as a group by tapping the check boxes to the left of each document and choosing the SHARE option at the bottom of the screen.
Utilizing either method of sharing will bring us to the share window. Here, we can choose who to share the document (or documents) with. If you have set up your documents properly, dotloop will automatically check mark each person with assigned fields, and give them the Can Sign permission. This permission allows the selected person to sign any field assigned to them. If you need to change their permission, tap on the currently displayed permission, but for now lets keep the can sign permission.
Lastly, before sharing, you can type a custom message to the recipient(s) at the bottom of this screen by tapping Add a Note. Also, you can tap Attach PDF to email if you would like to include a PDF attachment to the email. Once we're all done, tap the Done button at the top right.
Once successfully shared, dotloop will prompt you with the message THIS DOCUMENT HAS BEEN SHARED.
That's it! We're now done, and your recipient will receive an email guiding them through the signing process. Once signed you will receive a notification letting you know they have successfully signed any documents shared with them.
When sharing a document you have a few options on how to share. These are referred to as sharing permissions. Let's first explain each permission.
View Only - View only will allow the recipient to only view the document. They cannot sign this document, they cannot make any changes to it.
Can Sign - This is the permission you'll be using when you only need to obtain signatures/initials. Can sign will allow the recipient to view the document and also dotloop will walk them through their assigned signature/initial fields, making an intuitive experience for the recipient to sign and/or initial the document(s). Also, this permission will notify you and send the signed document back to you automatically after the recipient clicks the 'Complete Signing' prompt.
Can Fill & Sign - This permission is for documents you need filled out and signed, but you don't want the recipient to actually alter field sizes or add fields to a document. A Seller's Disclosure is a good example of a document that would be sent with this permission. We will walk the recipient down the document to each blank field and request their input, including initials/signature.
Can Edit In Private - Can edit in private should only be used with other professionals familiar with dotloop. When you pull a document out of templates, or upload a document into your loop, you automatically have Can edit in private permission. That is the highest permission for a document, meaning you can change whatever you want on it (everything tracked of course in dotloop), alter field size, delete or place additional fields, and fill out anything you want. Any changes made to a previously signed document by design will wipe out signatures ensuring no one is agreeing to term edits made after signatures were placed. This permission is ideal when sharing with co-op agents using dotloop.
Now that we understand the sharing permissions, we can now see what permission someone in a loop has on a particular document. To do so, open the document and choose SHARE. While on the share screen, the current permission of all people in the loop will be displayed under their name.
If you wish to change the permission of the party you are sharing with, simply tap on the current share permission, and you will be presented with all available permissions. note: you can only choose a permission if you have the permission to do so. Also, you are only able to give the can sign permission if that person has at least on field assigned to them to sign on the document.
We will also note here that when choosing the appropriate permission, you can also remove, or resend the file from this menu.