Remember, documents are always private until shared. After selecting documents to share, you will decide how recipients interact with those documents by selecting a Share Permission.
Documents can be shared individually or in groups. To share documents, open your loop and follow these steps.
There is a checkbox to the left of each document in your loop. Click in the box of each document that you are ready to share. A Share button will appear in the upper right hand corner of your loop’s Documents section.
Note: if you have documents that need to be shared with different Share Permissions, you will need to share them in two separate groups. For example, on a Listing Contract you will give your seller permission to sign, but on a Residential Property Disclosure you will give your seller permission to fill out and sign the document.
Click the Share button in the upper right hand corner of your loop’s Documents section. A Share Document window will appear in the middle of your screen.
Share Document window includes an Add People section. Click on the box to the left of each person that you’d like to share the documents to. You may also add a new person to share to by entering their name, email, and choosing a role. Adding a new person here will add that person to the loop.
To the right of each person is a dropdown list of Share Permissions. Confirm that the Share Permission is set correctly or click on the dropdown list to change the Share Permission. There are 4 Share Permissions:
View Only - allows recipients to view the documents. They cannot sign the documents and they cannot make changes to them. They can however print or download the documents.
Can Sign - allows recipients to view, sign, and complete assigned fields on the documents. After the recipient signs, you will be notified and the documents will be shared back to you automatically.
Can Fill & Sign - allows recipients to view, sign, and fill out documents. After the recipient fills out and signs the documents, you will be notified and the documents will be shared back to you automatically.
Can Edit in Private - grants recipients the same editing functionality that you have. It’s the Share Permission that should be used when collaborating with other real estate professionals.
Below the Add People section of the Share Document window is a line that says “Enter Custom Message”. Type a custom message in the box and it will be included in the body of the email.
In the bottom left of the Share Document window you will find the option to attach PDF copies to the email. Check this box if you would like to attach PDF copies of the documents to the email.
Click the Share button in the bottom right corner of the Share Document window. This will send an email to the people you’ve selected.
- If you are receiving an error when trying to share after checking “Attach PDF to email”, you may be over the size limit that can be sent in an email. Try unchecking a document or two, and then sharing with a PDF attached.
- Not all documents will present you with the Autofill window. This will only be the case for interactive templates.
- If Can Sign is greyed out and cannot be chosen as a sharing permission, this is because there are no fields assigned to the individual you would be assigning Can Sign to. Go back into your documents and double check your signature and initial fields, this will then allow you to select Can Sign.
- An individual's share permission will default to Can Sign if that individual has signature/initial fields assigned to them within the document/documents you are sharing.
- If your clients are not receiving documents you can check the status of the share via the Activity Log. If there is an issue with the share you will see a log entry stating “Status: something went wrong. Check with the recipient or reshare the document”. This typically means that either the email address is misspelled, or that the client's email client is bouncing the emails back.